Home / Travel / New 7 Wonders Of The World 2024

New 7 Wonders Of The World 2024

Want to know what are the names of the new 7 wonders of the world? And do you agree with the new list? There are many historical and wonderful monuments in the world like Taj Mahal, Machu Picchu and many more. In the year 2000, a campaign was launched to select the New 7 Wonders of the World from 200 monuments. Its winner was announced in 2007.

The Great Pyramid of Giza, the largest and oldest of the three pyramids at the Giza Necropolis in Egypt and the only surviving of the original Seven Wonders of the Ancient World, has been given honorary status. Check out the list of New 7 Wonders of the world by 2024 here!

● Taj Mahal, India

the taj mahal new agra

The Taj Mahal is an ivory-white marble mausoleum on the southern bank of the Yamuna River in the Indian city of Agra. It was built by the Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan in 1632 for the tomb of his favorite wife, Mumtaz Mahal. It also has the tomb of Shah Jahan himself. 

The mausoleum is the centerpiece of the 17-hectare complex, which includes a mosque and a guest house, and is set in formal gardens bounded on three sides by a formal wall.

The construction project employed some 20,000 artisans under the guidance of a board of architects led by the court architects for the emperor Ustad Ahmad Lahori. Taj Mahal is one of the new 7 wonders of the world by 2024.

  • Location – India

See Also: Most Beautiful Palaces In The World

● Christ the Redeemer, Brazil

Christ the Redeemer, machu picchu, taj mahal new

Christ the Redeemer is a Christ deco statue in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, created by French sculptor Paul Landowski and by Brazilian engineer Heiter da Silva Costa in collaboration with French engineer Albert Cacot. Romanian sculptor Gheoghe Leonida fashioned the face.

Built between 1922 and 1931, the statue is 30 meters high, except for its 8-meter (26 ft) pedestal. The weapon spans 28 meters. Christ the Redeemer is one of the new seven wonders of the world by 2024.

  • Location – Brazil

● Machu Picchu, Peru

machu picchu, taj mahal one of the new 7 wonders of the world

Machu Picchu is a 15th-century Inca stronghold, located in the eastern Cordillera of southern Peru. It is situated on a hill of 2,430 meter. It is located in the Machu Picchu district within the province of Urubamba above the Sacred Valley, 80 kilometers northwest of Cuzco.

The Urubamba River crosses it, cutting through the Cordillera and forming a valley with a tropical mountainous climate.

Although known locally, it was not known to the Spanish in the colonial period and remained unknown to the outside world until the American historian Hiram Bingham brought it to international attention in 1911. Machu Picchu is one of the new 7 wonders of the world by 2024.

  • Location – Peru

● Chichen Itza, Mexico

Chichen Itza one of the new 7 wonders of the world

Chichen Itza was a large pre-Columbian city built by the Mayan people at the time of the Terminal Classic. The archaeological site is located in Tinum Municipality, Yucatan State, Mexico.

Chichen Itza was one of the largest Mayan cities and it was possibly one of the legendary great cities, or Toulon, referred to in later Mesoamerican literature.

The city’s Maya may have the most diverse population in the world, a factor that may contribute to the diversity of architectural styles on the site. Chichen Itza is one of the new 7 wonders of the world by 2024.

  • Location – Mexico

See Also: Most Populated Countries In The World

● Colosseum, Italy

Colosseum one of the new 7 wonders of the world

The Colosseum is an oval amphitheatre in the centre of Rome, Italy, to the east of the city of Rome and is the largest ancient amphitheatre to date. It is still the largest permanent amphitheatre in the world despite its age. 

Its construction began in 72 under Emperor Vespasian (r. 69–79 AD) and was completed in 80 AD under his successor and heir, Titus (r. 79–81).

Further amendments were made during the reign of the Domitian (r. 81–96). The three emperors who were the patrons of Kama are known as the Flavian dynasty.

The amphitheatre was named the Flavian Amphitheater, later for the association of classicists and archaeologists with their family name. The Colosseum is one of the new seven wonders of the world by 2024.

  • Location – Italy

● Petra, Jordan

petra one of the new 7 wonders of the world

Petra is a historical and archaeological city in southern Jordan. Petra is located in a basin surrounded by mountains around Jabal al-Madbah. It forms the eastern coast of the Arabian Valley which runs from the Dead Sea to the Gulf of Aqaba. 

However, archaeological works have only discovered evidence of a Nabatian presence in the second century BCE, by which time Petra had become their capital. 

The Nabataeans were nomadic Arabs, who invested in Petra’s proximity to trade routes by establishing it as a major regional trading center. Petra is one of the new seven wonders of the world by 2024.

  • Location – Jordan

● Wall of China

wall of china one of the new 7 wonders of the world

The Great Wall of China is a series of fortifications. It was built across the historic northern borders of ancient Chinese states and Imperial China as a safeguard against various nomadic groups from the Eurasian steppe. 

Many walls were built as early as the 7th century BCE, with the selective stretch later joined together by the first emperor of China, Qin Shi Huang. Qin’s wall is small. Later, many successive dynasties have built and maintained many parts of the boundary walls.

The most famous sections of the wall were built by the Ming Dynasty (1368–1644). Great Wall of China is one of the new seven wonders of the world by 2024.

  • Location – China

See Also: Largest Hotels In The World

● Great Pyramid of Giza (honorary status)

Great Pyramid of Giza new Egypt
By KennyOMG – Own work

The Great Pyramid is the oldest and largest pyramid of Giza. It is in the current Giza Pyramid Complex in Greater Cairo, Egypt. It is the oldest of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World, and the only one to remain largely intact.

Egyptologists have concluded that the pyramid was built as a tomb for the Fourth Dynasty Egyptian pharaoh Khufu and it is estimated that it took approximately 27 years to build, being completed around 2560 BCE.

Initially standing at 146.5 metres, the Great Pyramid was the largest man made structure in the world for over 3,800 years. The base measured approximately 230.3 metres square, giving a volume of approximately 2.6 million cubic metres, including the inner hill.

  • Location – Egypt

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below and subscribe to our newsletter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *